* Garden Cottage - Honolulu Honolulu
- GARDEN COTTAGE-
Shaded by a glorious banyan tree, this home feels like an elegantly decorated tree house only steps away from the ocean. Decorated in a stylish Hawaiian style, this unit offers two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and a spacious living room area.
- THE BEACH -
The water in front of the home is shallow and calm, which is good for children. Surfing is possible during the summer months in front of the home if you walk out past the reef where it gets deeper. This home also has access to a large gated pool area that is shared with a few of your neighboring homes on the estate. Amazing snorkeling is just a few minutes up the road at world famous Hanauma Bay and a short drive to Waikiki and Kahala Mall for fun shopping and entertainment.
- THE NEIGHBORHOOD -
It is ideally located, permitting access to Waikiki and all it has to offer, while living in a tranquil Hawaiian home.
One: 1 King
Two: 1 King
Other: Queen size sleeper sofa. Pack n plays, cribs and kids beds can be rented and delivered. No hot tub on property. AC in bedrooms only. Fans throughout home.
** While this home can accept a minimum 7 night booking, this property only accepts one booking per 30 day period. If a full 30 day hold is not available, we will not be able to rent the home and will notify you as such. The 30 day block will be determined by Hawaii Beach Homes based on your requested dates. **
HAWAII TAX ID T-114-545-6640Local Contact: Hawaii Beach Homes
- Air Conditioning
- Bird watching
- Communal Pool
- Air Conditioning in Bedrooms
- Linens, Bath and Beach Towels
- Washer & Dryer
- Ceiling Fans
- Nearby Golf Course
- Nearby Post Office
- Wireless High Speed Internet
- Coffee Maker
- Full Kitchen
- Televisions in Bedrooms
- Barbeque Area
- BBQ Grill
- Beach Walking
- Outdoor Shower
- Shared Swimming Pool
- Movie Theatre
- Water Park
- Area Fitness Center
- Medical Services Nearby
- Nearby Grocery
- Nearby Starbucks
- Nearby Various Restaurants
- Military Base
- Polynesian Cultural Center
- Pearl Harbor
- Botanical Gardens
- Swimming With Dolphins
- Horseback Riding
- Beach Access
- Exceptional Sunrises
- Area - South Shore
- DisplayRate - $175 - $350 per nt.
- LocationField - Oahu
- Property Type - House
- View - Beach Access
|1. January - Mid April 2020 +||1/7/2020 - 4/14/2020||5||$225||$1575||$6750|
|2. Mid April - May 31st 2020 +||4/15/2020 - 5/31/2020||5||$225||$1575||$6750|
|3. June, July, August 2020 +||6/1/2020 - 8/31/2020||5||$225||$1575||$6750|
|4. September, October 2020 +||9/1/2020 - 10/31/2020||5||$225||$1575||$6750|
|5. November, December 2020+||11/1/2020 - 11/21/2020||5||$225||$1575|
|6. Thanksgiving 2019 +||11/22/2020 - 11/28/2020||5||$250||$1750|
|5. November, December 2020+||11/29/2020 - 12/17/2020||5||$225||$1575|
|1. January - Mid April 2020 +||1/7/2021 - 4/14/2021||5||$225||$1575||$6750|
Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Hawaii! Aloha, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! The toilet handle has been fixed, and we will label the microwave or purchase a new one, our apologies for the inconvenience. For future guests please note that if you wait in the driveway until the nearby stoplight turns red you can then easily pull into any lane.
The house is very spacious with an open great room, large island, and huge kitchen table for gathering. Kids loved the pool table. The ocean is very shallow making it good for small children. The backyard and beach are gorgeous. The pool was very nice but not heated so only the kids would brave it. The house itself needs a good update, especially the bathroom in the main house. It also needs better bug prevention, we saw a lot of large critters. House was a little dusty, like it had been cleaned but maybe some time had passed. Overall though it met our needs.
The location is stellar, very close to everything we wanted to see, but getting in and out of the house is a little tricky. Only one car can pull off the highway up to the gate at a time, and the lights take a long time to change, allowing you to pull out onto the highway. Allow an extra 10 minutes for any trip towards Honolulu for this.
Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us, Herron Family! We apologize for the initial issues, and are happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much once everything was rectified. Future guests should please note that the house is serviced by Terminex monthly and we share tips in our move in instructions on how to store food properly in order to minimize and issues. We also give tips on navigating traffic. The house is scheduled for its quarterly spring clean, and is cleaned by a professional company after every booking. Please don't hesitate to call or email us with questions!
Our only issue was on Saturday when our entire group was hanging at the house swimming. At the same time, the maintenance crew was there with a very loud and obnoxious leaf blower. Given that there was a large group scheduled to be there and it was a Saturday afternoon, this was a very inappropriate time to be using a loud leaf blower. Furthermore, the man with the leaf blower paid absolutely no attention to us as he used the leaf blower in the pool area while we were all literally sitting in his path. When we asked him to please stop, he totally ignored us.
This was not a deal breaker by any means and was our only issue. Everything else was great. I just hope they take the scheduling of these obviously important maintenance tasks into consideration when scheduling in the future.
The property is managed by Hawaii Beach Homes and they were very accommodating. They provided us with a mobile app to assist with an easy check-in and check-out.
Manager Response: Thank you were glad you had a good time
You asked, but I want you to know we enjoyed the time there. Thank you for your continued support while we were there. especially when I forgot the code , you saved me from waking up some tired old people. Appreciatted it very much.
Manager Response: Hi Robin, Thank you for your review and comments, we take them seriously and have passed it on to the cleaners. We are glad you still enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Roberta, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the home, if only we could have controlled the weather for you! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Hi David, We apologize about the loud neighbors and the dogs but are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us regardless :) If the noisy neighbors are also guests of ours, next time we will give them a call to ask them to keep it down for you. We hope to have you back soon :) Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thanks Denise! We are glad you all enjoyed yourselves. Aloha, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Betty, We appreciate your wonderful review of The Garden Cottage. We too think that the pool and hot tub are a nice touch! The classic sunsets and wonderful memories will last a life time and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Alvin, We appreciate your first review with us :) Thank you for appreciating our dedication to this location! We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Terry, We appreciate you filling out the reviews for the entire Beachfront Banyan Estate. The Garden Cottage has a wonderful upgraded kitchen and we are happy that your group of 24 enjoyed! Happy New Year, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to review The Garden Cottage, we too think that this was a great deal! We enjoyed talking with you during your stay and look forward to hosting you next year in 2015! Thank you for making your reservation already :) Happy Holidays, Hawaii Beach Homes
Location was perfect setting
Manager Response: Aloha Patricia, The Garden Cottage is a true resting place and offers a wonderful location! The island traffic can get hectic at times compared to The North Shore. We are happy to read that you found The Garden Cottage the perfect setting. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
The one issue I had during my stay was the lack of parking management. This cottage shares its parking with three other units on the property. When all units are occupied the parking lot is well beyond it's capacity and with no assignments it's first come.
Manager Response: Aloha Shawn, Thank you for reviewing the Garden Cottage. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this destination. As speaking with you through email we understood that there was a parking issues for 1 day of your stay and addressed them immediately as other guests had multiple rental cars. This property has 1 assigned parking stall. We are truly sorry if this caused any confusion. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to review The Garden Cottage. The pool can be a real big hit during the summer months :) We hope to host you on your next visit to Hawaii. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review Garden Cottage. We look forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Traci, We are very happy to hear that you had a great trip to Honolulu, we look forward to hosting you again at The Garden Cottage! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to review Garden Cottage. We too agree that this home is a great location for families! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Judith, The Garden location has all the modern amenities you dream of. We are happy to hear that you would recommend this location to friends! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool :-) Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Michelle, We too think that the Garden Cottage is a nice getaway! 12 nights sounds like an great relaxing vacation. Thank you for being so understanding about the jacuzzi, sometimes it can be hard to repair the simplest things without having the correct part. We pride ourselves on maintaining a level of experience as if we were hosting you in our own home. We hope to host you in the future on your next trip to Oahu. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Malia, Thank you for taking the time to review The Garden Cottage. We too think Garden cottage is a great location to avoid crowds, relax in a Jacuzzi, and watch sunsets. We look forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Candace, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about The Garden Cottage. We too also believe that this property is great for couples! Hawaii Beach Homes looks forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Kai
Manager Response: Aloha Lisa, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Garden Cottage. Hawaii Beach Homes hopes that your family enjoyed the activities around the property! We will be reviewing the glassware, mugs, and dishes. We hope that you consider Hawaii Beach Homes for a future vacation. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
chairs in the living room was broken and unusable. The cottage needs a deep cleaning. The location was great, but was hard to get out of the driveway because the main street was very busy. The maintenence crew cared for the pool, but never cleaned the deck area. There was debris everywhere.The kitchen was fairly well stocked, i had to call the management company to ask for a bottle opener, and they brought one that same day. The numbers on the microwave are completely worn off, so we just pushed random buttons to use for heating. A few other small issues came up and we will be addressing them with the management company. Overall we had a nice time, and nothing affected our stay in Hawaii.
Manager Response: We have addressed all issues and have spoken to our cleaning crew and purchased and will be bringing a new microwave to the unit shortly. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Tree outside our door was spectacular--- a beautiful place to relax and appreciate the wonders of Hawaiian nature! The beach was less than a minute's walk, and was very peaceful, natural, with hardly any people there. Even though it is very shallow and not a great swimming beach, it was such a lovely place to sit and watch the sunrise and sunset. Being able to relax quietly on the beach was one of the highlights.
The swimming pool was wonderful, we used it every day and loved it.
The only real drawback to this property was the very busy, noisy highway nearby
Which we could hear from the cottage. The worst part was driving out of the driveway, because the traffic was heavy and fast and there wasn't much room to get out and join the flow of traffic. However, we got used to it, and I'd say we mastered it. There are malls nearby, Whole Foods in one mall, and Foodland in another. Very convenient. Our teenage grandkids really appreciated the malls.
The man who took care of the place was really nice and helpful.
The reason I titled this "Unexpected Hideaway" is because, you would never know by driving by on the busy highway, that such a lovely and cozy place existed just off the highway. And the beach's peace and quiet offset the highway noise. It really was a great place for our family to stay...close to amenities but
A private escape surrounded by trees and natural beauty.
Manager Response: Aloha Shaws, Mahalo for your review! Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
The location of the cottage was wonderful and it was a very nice unit. We just wish we hadn't had the plumbing issue.
Manager Response: The root has been cleared and all the plumbing issues have been taken off. We are very sorry that this happened during their stay. They were wonderful guests and we appreciated their patience while we did our best to resolve the problem. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
As it says in other comments, there were some issues with ants but I think that's a common problem in most of the first floor/one story buildings. They had sprays so we just used them as needed. Besides that, everything was fine!
Looking forward to visit Hawaii again would love to stay here as well!
Manager Response: Aloha, All of our homes are treated monthly for pest control. However, being the tropics, insects and bugs are part of the natural environment. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the home. We would love to have you back anytime. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: The sofa be has been replaced and we will bring extra linens over. We would love to have you back any time. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo for your review, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Diann,Thank you for your review and we appreciate you contacting our office regarding the issues you experienced at the unit. We found out that the windows were left open and the gardeners blew dust into the unit after it had been cleaned. We replaced the sofa bed with a brand new one over the weekend. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Aloha Brian,Thank you for your review. The beach in front of the home is fairly shallow, perfect for small children or simply taking a stroll along the beach. If you walk about 200 yards out, the dept is ideal for swimming and snorkeling. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for the suggestion. We are going to add shelving in a few spots throughout the home. Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
loved having coffee on the "privite" beach each morning..we had the beach to ourselves!
Manager Response: Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here, and hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for the review. We are sorry that we didn't get back to you in time about an early check in, we tried to have the house ready early but it did not work out. The electrical system could no longer support a jacuzzi at each house of the estate, so we now have one common jacuzzi in the pool area. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for the review, Sara! We have purchased many new things for the kitchen, it is now very well stocked. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for the review. We now have the house serviced inside and out, on a monthly basis, by a pest control company. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank for the suggestions, Zbigniew, we are addressing these issues. We hope you can stay with us again soon!Aloha, Sara
Manager Response: Thank you for your review. The TV has been replaced. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for your nice review. We have restocked the kitchen. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you so much, Cheryl! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: We are so happy you liked the house! Thank you for taking the time to review. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for your review. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for the review. There is no longer a telephone at the Garden Cottage. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you, Virginia. We have sensor lights outdoors for the nighttime. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us! Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
About the highway noise, from reading previous comments, we were worry about the highway noise, which did not bother us at all during our stay.
The pool was great although there are leaves in it. We just wonder whether the thing in the bottom of the pool working at all!
The place is nice and comfy. However be ready to see some tropical pest like cockroach. I guess the manager can't do much about this.
Three improvements that will make the place closer to be perfect are:
1. Add a local phone line in the Paradise unit. Not all tourists are from the US and it is roaming charge to use cellphone in the State.
2. The internet somehow does not work (asking for password but we cannot find one). The admin office said that we don't need a password but there is no connection without asking for a password.
3. The TV reception is bad.
Overall though, we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very helpful...thanks Sara, Anna and Amy for your assistance.
Manager Response: Thank you for your review, Dan! We have updated the internet and televsion access, it works very well now. We now have the house serviced monthly for pest control. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
The logistics, staff, and informations were very helpful. It felt like having a second home once we opened the front door.
The jacuzzi and the pool was the highlight of the property, it was very private yet at the same time it was outdoor next to a wonderful banyan tree.
You must have a rental car if you want to stay in this property. Once you do have a car, it is conveniently located to Koko Marina where you have wonderful mom and pop shops, wonderful South Shore Fellowship church, supermarket, and nice restaurants, not to mention the Hanauma Bay and Koko head; all in less than 7 miles from the house.
Couple things that can be enhanced:
1. Somewhere in the direction should mention the nearest cross street with the traffic light, instead of the development name. It was covered by the bush, and we missed it for another 2 miles looking for the address.
2. The wi-fi signal is weak, we cannot get the signal even in the bedroom.
3. The dryer takes a loooong time to dry.
4. Carpeting in the bedrooms can be replaced.
These are relatively small things compared to the overall experience, which was very positive. I highly recommend this property.
Manager Response: Thank you for your review. We have purchased a stronger wireless router, and fixed the dryer. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
We were told that the ocean was mild in this location, but envisioned at least enough swell to keep it kind of clean. The water was not very pleasant but I can understand why this is not expressly communicated (and it is a bit subjective :)).
Manager Response: Thank you for your patience with the cleaning crew. Our contract states that if need by we have until 6pm to finish, though 99% of the time our homes are ready by 3pm. The ocean in front of the estate is very shallow and calm for a few hundred yards, which is ideal if you have small children. If you put on reef shoes and walk past the rocky area, the water becomes deep and swimmable. This area is also great for kayaking and stand up paddling. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you for your review! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
Also the location is about 1 mile from Kahara mall and a few miles to Hanauma Bay. You cannot expect more for the location. It is close to the major blvd so it is not super serene.
Overall, we are more than happy for the stay. Definitely go back again:)
Manager Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had such a great time in Hawaii, see you again soon! Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes
A few points of criticism are that the television reception was poor and maybe unnecessarily so since all the necessary equipment for a better reception was available in the home but had not been properly installed as well as there were no instructions as to how to use the tv, remotes or cable boxes. The same thing applies to the use of the microwave. This we also had to figure out by trial and error because a lot of symbols had been erased from the buttons on it and there were no further instructions as to how it worked. In the end we figured it out.
Finally, the tone on the visitors instructions guide is quite harsh and unfriendly especially the part about having all towels washed on the property before departure or you may be charged a fee. Although I gladly left all towels washed, dried and folded before departure it added to the already long list of chores to do in preparation for departure for my family of five and is actually an added stress factor for travelers. This I thought was unfair seeing that such high cleaning fees are already charged for the use of the home.
Having said all this, I add that even these points that could be improved did not outweigh our otherwise relaxing and wonderful stay at the cottage.
Manager Response: We're sorry the client found the instructions harsh, we ask the clients to start a load of towels to help out the cleaning staff but it is not required and we have never charged anyone for not doing so. If you find that you are confused by the remote control or kitchen appliances simply call the office, we will gladly come by help out.
Manager Response: Thank you so much, Carpenter family! We are glad you had such a great time in Hawaii, see you again soon. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Owner is very friendly and helpfull.
But there is a one thing to say. Bed is littel bit smelled sweaty. It is needed to be washed and dried.
Overall staying is very satisfied.
We wanna stay again.
Manager Response: Thank you for the review, we have replaced the bed mattress and linens. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes
Manager Response: Thank you, Claudia! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes