Sunshine Reef - Beachfront Laie

Beachfront | Miles of Great Swimming Beach | HotTub | AC






This spacious home provides just about every amenity your family is looking for. Located directly beachfront on an excellent swimming beach, Sunshine Reef has AC throughout, modern decor, hot tub, and is close to shopping, restaurants, luaus and countless other activities.

Sunshine Reef has been remodeled and decorated with your every comfort in mind. This 5 bedroom, 4 bathroom home has a modern kitchen with pantry, office, laundry room, and two dining areas. Skylights and floor to ceiling windows provide lots of natural light and stunning ocean views. A second living room and kitchen are located on the second floor, making the home a perfect set up for big groups or two families traveling together. Other amenities include televisions in every bedroom, board games, 5GHz high speed WIFI, BBQ Grill, security system, and off street parking. All linens, bath and beach towels are provided. This is a private house; no other home, tenant or caretaker is on property. The house sleeps a maximum of 12 guests; please see below for a detailed description of the bedrooms.

Few rentals on the North Shore can compete with this spectacular location! Sunshine reef is tucked away on a white sandy beach that is protected by a reef, making it ideal for swimming and snorkeling year round. You will be able to walk the beach for miles and miles, particularly nice during sunrise. The area is also fantastic for kayakers, and in surf season Temples, Boilers and Middle are breaks located just out your back door. The yard includes ocean view hot tub, outdoor dining table, bbq grill, lots of lounge chairs and an outdoor shower. The beach area is very private here. Stroll along the shoreline by day and soak under stars every evening. Simply paradise…

Sunshine Reef is located on Oahu’s Famous North Shore, in the charming village of Laie. This family friendly town is home to the Polynesian Cultural Center and the best luau on island. Other nearby attractions include Laie Falls trail, a 6 mile hike that leads to a stunning waterfall; Laie Point, a scenic spot made famous by Hollywood movies; Turtle Bay resort, for golfing and dining; and Climbworks, a world class zip line where your family can see our famous beaches, farms, and lush mountains from a bird’s eye view. Hukilau Marketplace is located in walking distance and provides live music and dance daily. The BYU campus and LDS temple are a short drive away. A large grocery store and various eateries are located very close to the home, and the area is well known for its many shrimp shacks.

One : 1 King, Full ensuite bathroom
Two: 1 King, Full ensuite bathroom
Three: 1 Queen
Four: 1 Queen
Five: 2 bunkbeds/4 twins, Full ensuite bathroom
Other: There is a loft area with a double size bunk bed/2 doubles. Pack n plays, cribs and kids beds can be rented and delivered.

- Home is zero lot line. The u – shaped driveway and spacious yard are used by both Sunshine Reef and the neighboring home. There is plenty of space and privacy for everyone.
- Laie, the town name, is three syllables and pronounced like this: La, then the letter e, then the letter a. La – e – a !

** While this home can accept a minimum 7-14 night booking, this property only accepts one booking per 30 day period. If a full 30 day hold is not available, we will not be able to rent the home and will notify you as such. The 30 day block will be determined by Hawaii Beach Homes based on your requested dates.**

HAWAII TAX ID TAT and GET -010-652-8768 Local Contact: Hawaii Beach Homes


  • Outdoor shower
  • Shower
  • Tub
  • Bay/sound
  • Botanical garden
  • Churches
  • Cinemas
  • Duty free shops
  • Festivals
  • Forests
  • Library
  • Live theater
  • Marina
  • Museums
  • Rain forests
  • Reefs
  • Restaurants
  • Water parks
  • Waterfalls
  • Zoo
Dining Checkbox
  • Dining
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Cable Television
  • Televisions in Bedrooms
  • Flat Screen Television
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cookware
  • Deluxe Full Kitchen
  • Dishes and Utensils
  • Extra Oven
  • Extra Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Leisure Activities
  • Antiquing
  • Beachcombing
  • Bird watching
  • Eco tourism
  • Horseback riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Luaus
  • Outlet shopping
  • Paddle boating
  • Photography
  • Scenic drives
  • Sight seeing
  • Walking
  • Whale watching
Local Services And Businesses
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • Fitness center
  • Groceries
  • Hospital
  • Laundromat
  • Massage therapist
  • Medical services
Location Type
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool Spa
  • Hot Tub
Sports And Adventure Activities
  • Cycling
  • Deepsea fishing
  • Equestrian events
  • Fishing
  • Golf
  • Hiking
  • Hunting
  • Jet skiing
  • Mountain biking
  • Paragliding
  • Roller blading
  • Sailing
  • Scuba diving or snorkeling
  • Snorkeling
  • Surf fishing
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Water skiing
  • Water tubing
  • Wind-surfing
  • Children welcome
  • Air Conditioning
  • Bathtub
  • Linens, Bath and Beach Towels
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Off Street Parking
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Jacuzzi
  • High Speed Internet
  • Nearby ATM
  • Nearby Golf Course
  • Nearby Post Office
  • Wireless High Speed Internet
  • Telephone
  • Balcony
  • BBQ Grill
  • Beach Walking
  • Beachcombing
  • Biking
  • Boating
  • Boogie Boarding
  • Deep Sea Fishing
  • Fishing
  • Golf Course
  • Hiking Trails
  • Horseback Riding
  • Jacuzzi
  • Sight-Seeing
  • Snorkeling
  • Standup Paddleboarding
  • Surfing
  • Swim with Sea Turtles
  • Swimming
  • Wind Surfing
  • Lounge Chairs
  • Patio Table and Chairs
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Beach
  • Movie Theatre
  • Zoo
  • Games
  • Aquarium
  • Craft Shopping
  • Medical Services Nearby
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Nearby Various Restaurants
  • Military Base
  • Museums
  • Polynesian Cultural Center
  • Beachfront Property
  • Exceptional Views
  • Area - North Shore
  • DisplayRate - $695 - $2000 per nt.
  • LocationField - Oahu
Property Type
  • Property Type - House
  • View - Beachfront
Show All

Season Period Min.Stay Nightly Weekly Monthly
2022 - 23 Sept.-Oct. 9/11/2022 - 10/31/2022 30 $36000
2022-2023 Winter Holidays 12/18/2022 - 1/4/2023 14 $14000
2023-2024 Jan- May 1/5/2023 - 5/31/2023 30 $36000
August 2022-2024 June, July, Aug. 6/1/2023 - 9/10/2023 30 $40500


Best Location
We loved our time at Sunshine Reef. The home is lovely, clean and comfortable. But the real star of the show is the backyard beach. Semi-private and breathtakingly beautiful. “Paradise” is not overstating it. My husband would like to give this home six out of five stars.
May 2022
Paradise within Paradise
We had a marvelous family reunion at this north shore beachside home. There were 13 of us & each member thoroughly enjoyed the house on the beach.
Larry D.
Apr 2022
Wonderful Experience
We had a great time visiting Oahu's many sites, enjoyed the beach, hot tub, each other's company and food!
Jim D.
Dec 2021
Most amazing vacation
Amazing house! Amazing views! Amazing location! The house was beautiful and spacious. Every little thing was thought of- plenty of towels, clean, spacious, nice sitting areas, list can go on. Having a beach in backyard was priceless, we had our early morning tea sitting out there and late night wine in the moonlight. There is grocery shop just less than a minute walk from house. North shore is an awesome place and the house just enhanced our overall experience. The booking company- Hawaii beach homes were very professional with clear instructions on check in, check out etc, they sent information at every step through email, they were reachable easily for any questions. We look forward to booking with them again!
Nov 2021
Great home to use as a home base on the North Shore
This nearly 4000 square foot home was perfect for our extended family of 12. We found the property to be clean and well maintained. Hawaii Beach Homes were very cooperative and maintained good communications throughout the process. Location was great with a Foodland grocery store within 100 yards for food and staples. One thing to note is there is no soap or shampoo provided for the showers/baths, so be prepared for that. The star of the show was the beautiful beach steps away from the home. Our family never tired of swimming/snorkeling in the ocean. Polynesian Cultural Center within a mile. Food trucks a similar distance. The hot tub was a nice amenity also. Beautiful sun rises and sunsets. A great night time sky full of stars. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Robert C.
Aug 2021
50th Anniversary trip
The rental house was fantastic. very clean and well maintained. Location was excellent. Beach access from the backyard made it very easy to swim, snorkel or just relax, beautiful sunrises started your day.
Stan L.
Jun 2021
Home away from Home
This home had everything we needed and much more to make for a wonderful month long vacation with up to 10 family members. The house is just perfect for big or small groups with plenty of beds, bathroom, kitchens etc. All while located right on the beach with plenty of turtle heads popping out of the water every single day. It is also within walking distance from the grocery, point, shopping, Polynesian center and so much more. We will never forget our experience at the Sunshine Reef.
Laura H.
Dec 2020
The home was beautiful, clean, large and everything we had hoped for. The view is beyond heavenly and the beach so fun for all our kiddos. Sorry we had to leave early due to the corna virus and would definitely stay here again and hope soon. Aloha and mahalo Hawaii Beach homes for your great help and service. Peace on earth is found here.
Terry N.
Mar 2020
Lovely, spacious house, great location
Sunshine Reef is a lovely, well designed, spacious house. It is exactly as depicted on the website. Full service grocery across the street. Can apply online for Foodland rewards card that saves on many items. Our family of 11 had ample sleeping, bathroom, and lounging space. The beach is steps away from the patio. Sea turtles in the water every morning. The hot tub and outdoor shower were used frequently. We appreciated the 15 beach towels provided, also the 2 coolers for water on toad trips. The kids enjoyed the boogie boards. Kitchen was well-equipped. We even used the electric frying pan, crockpot and gas grill. During our 8 day trip, we spent most of our time on the North Shore. Enjoyed the parks and beaches, snorkeling, zip line, horseback ride, swimming, cliff jumping, Waimea beach, park and waterfall. One whole day at Polynesian Cultural Center (1.5 miles from the house). One day at Pearl Harbor and Waikiki. Some days at the house relaxing and just enjoying family time. Great location and lovely house!
Eugene F.
Nov 2019
Fantastic location and home for our entire family's vacation!
We had an opportunity of a lifetime to take our kids and grandkids to Hawaii this year. We chose this place due to its location and the home's amenities. In 10 days we did all we could possibly do on the island and felt like this was the perfect place to stay. It is very close to food shopping, food trucks, golf, ziplining, beaches, hikes, waterfalls, and the list goes on and on. We loved our stay at the Sunshine Reef. Thank you!
David H.
Oct 2019
Long awaited vacation.....
Perfect times always.... took my brothers & sister’s 1st time on island!!!!! Bucket list vacation for them. The property is always clean and never any issues.
Kirk M.
Oct 2019
Great home on the beach
Clean and roomy in a fantastic location on Oahu! We very much enjoyed coming back here after exploring the island.
Jennie G.
Jul 2019
Picture Perfect
The house and grounds were just as the picture displayed. The breathtaking ocean, steps from the house was amazing. This beach rental was a gift to our daughter as she wanted a destination wedding and this was perfect. I highly recommend this beautiful home if you want steps away from the ocean without having to leave the house. There is a market across the street which was very convenient.
Jun 2019
Great place to stay with family
We loved the location. The house was perfect for multiple families. We had two families a total of 13 people in the house. We enjoyed the walking distance to the grocery store and the temple. The Polynesian Cultural Center was also close and enjoyable. The beach is beautiful, but while we were there the tide was too high to enjoy any swimming from the house. We would absolutely recommend the Sunshine Reef to friends and family.
Dadree V.
Dec 2018
Fair Share
The rental itself was wonderful for our family. Situated on the North Shore, it put everything on the island nearly within a one hour drive or closer. The home itself, was perfect for our family, with sleeping facilities for 14. The major downside however, was when the property experienced a temporary blackout followed by a brownout, lasting for over hour. This was caused by an apparent vehicle accident, which finally corrected itself. The problem experienced was before the cause was known and the manner the property management staff responded. One person said they would place us on a list for response the next morning; the handy-man tried to solve the problem by phone, to no avail. After nearly an hour on the phone with him, he refused to come to the home and try to fix the problem. This all happened during the dinner hour (ruining dinner, which was in the oven), for 13 people. Both of these responses should be unacceptable when one pays over $15k for a rental.
Jay L.
Dec 2018

Manager Response: There was a blackout on the island that effected hundreds of homes. This became a "brownout" and electricity was restored in certain areas of the house, though it was still off in the main kitchen. To verify that it was still a HECO matter we asked the guest to check the breakers. The guest was unhappy we asked him to do this, but we felt that this was potentially the quickest way to solve the issue. The breakers were fine, meaning it was still a HECO issue. The guest then demanded a new oven be brought out. This would not have solved the issue as electricity was still out in that part of the house. The guest demanded we send the maintenance man immediately. This would not have solved the issue, either, as the outage was a problem only HECO could solve. Electricity was working in certain parts of the house so we suggested he use the second oven to finish cooking dinner, but the guest did not want to walk up the stairs to the second oven. By evenings end all electricity was restored to the North Shore and all of the appliances were working perfectly. Please note that black outs are not a normal occurrence, this matter was due to a fatal car crash. We are so happy that the guests enjoyed their time in the house despite the inconvenience caused.

Three family stay for wedding
This was a perfect home for our trip to Oahu. We came for my brother’s wedding on the north shore. There was plenty of room. The beds were extremely comfortable. The beach was stunning just outside your door. We snorkeled and saw so many turtles in the water out front. The beach is very rocky when you are in the water, but walk about 100 yards north and there are beautiful sandy spots. My brother even shoes us a gorgeous state park just up the road where you can walk out to an island at low tide. You can drive or walk from the house.
I absolutely recommend this house. Thank you for a perfect spot!
Nicole C.
Nov 2018
Birthday retreat
11 of us traveled as a family to this wonderful location to celebrate my 50th birthday. We had so much fun and really enjoyed our stay! We cooked most meals at the house and relaxed beachside afterwards. We took long walks on the sand just steps from our door. Every room was emasculate with access to spacious bathrooms. There were many lounging areas to spread out. While the kids played games at the game table, the guys watched some basketball in the family room, and the women talked in the living room. The office feature was fantastic for the three men who had to do some business remotely. Since my sister and her family have young kids the attached apartment was a wonderful option to let them have some normalcy to their routine.
Everything was so clean. There were plenty of towels as well. The handyman even stopped by one day to trim branches blowing against the house and treated us to a fresh coconut right off the tree!!
Matt F.
Nov 2018
true oceanfront.
We were booked at Sunshine Reef just a few days before arriving due to maintenance issues at our previous rental. The house is quite large and has updated amenities, gorgeous views and the beach is at your footsteps. it is extremely ideal for families - a large gathering living room and kitchen but lots of bedrooms to have quiet time when needed. Great location across from Foodland - it is in a dry town so if you want any spirits it is just a five minute drive down the road.

Only downfall is that this house is a duplex and it was quite a surprise to have to share it with another family, as the main reason we booked a private house was for privacy. There was also no surf or kayak equipment available (it appeared there was on the pictures but the neighbors/family next door locked it up so we were unable to use) so we had to spend extra to rent/get delivered.
Jenifer R.
Oct 2018

Manager Response: Sunshine Reef has a zero lot line, as noted in the house description. The home next door abuts the wall of Sunshine Reef, but both are their own unique properties with different lay outs. The homes were built this way in order to maximize the living space, resulting in a very spacious interior at Sunshine Reef. Our island is only 44 miles long by 30 miles wide so most houses sit very close to their neighbors - especially in sought after beach front areas. The privacy here is the same as about any beach house. Happily our neighbors on all sides are respectful and kind! We have never received a complaint about noise or interference of privacy. It seems the guest was a bit confused about kayaks and such as these are not something we supply to guests, though we do provide guests with suggestions on where to rent such items. Please contact Hawaii Beach Homes if you have any questions about the home.

love the view
We had a very enjoyable stay at he Sunshine Reef home.This townhouse style duplex has a wonderful view and beautiful beach. Our family was in Hawaii to celebrate a 75th birthday, and this was just the perfect spot to make some memories. There are a few quirks, the air conditioning is fairly loud in the second king bedroom, and is on a timer in the back bedroom and second living room. But all in all, a great place.
Oct 2018
Fantastic House and Location
We had the most amazing time at this rental home. It was the perfect size for our large group. The large grass area perfect for little kids and beach was beautiful. It's exactly as the photos show.
Amy D.
Jul 2018
Family anniversary trip
We were on Oahu to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our children and our grandchildren. We had a wonderful time.
Jul 2018
Jordan and Laura Graff
This was such a perfect rental home for us. We had 12 in our group and we had plenty of space for everyone. The home is beautiful and a perfect location. It is decorated very nice and has a great air conditioner which is a must in Hawaii. The beach is quiet and the view is amazing. The kids loved having the grass to play on, swimming at the beach and relaxing in the jacuzzi. I would definitely rent this property again. It was one of our favorite vacation stays.

Laura G.
Jun 2018
We had an awesome stay!! The home was exactly as advertised. The pictures were true to how the home really looks. There was plenty of room for 11 guests that we had and beds were very comfortable. The back yard was very spacious and the access to the beach truly made it feel like it was your own private beach. I have nothing to complain about. Would definitely rent again.
Leslie A.
May 2018

Manager Response: Thanks Armijo Family! You were the best, we hope to see you again next year. Mahalo for staying with us.

Sunshine reef house
I would definitely recommend this house. We rented another house before this and was not happy with it, asked for a refund than was homeless for few hours. Than we saw this beautiful home and called to book it. Sarah, at Hawaii beach homes worked really hard for us to get this house in short notice. The price was great, the home is beautiful great service and made our trip memorable.
Apr 2018
Getaway For 5 Friends
five friends set out on a vacation to celebrate good health and great relationships. sunshine Reef was a perfect place for us. The oceanfront, with the waves hugging the beach, gave us such a perfect backdrop to our time together. There was plenty of room to either spread out or come together for activities. We enjoyed our creature comforts - plenty of hot water and great water pressure, two stacked washers and driers, a great kitchen, and lots of outdoor lounging chairs. We enjoyed every moment!!
Robert M.
Feb 2018
Great family holiday
We came to the island to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We came with our kids and their spouses so 11 people total. :) the home was great, and the beach beautiful. Truly a wonderful get away.
Arlene H.
Jan 2018
Family Vacation Oasis
As any homeowner would know there were a few hiccups about the stay but overall, it was an amazing location. The views in the morning were priceless. The property was very spotless. The accommodations were spacious and modern. Things that couldn’t be for seen... the high storm tide washed away the beach steps from house to ocean. We were able to attempt to rebuild them. The smoke alarm battery started beeping low battery and we had to go to the store and buy new batteries. The bathtub was clogged from previous tenant and went unreported (or perhaps it wasn’t used in a while.) the tv died in the upstairs apartment died on day 2. These items could not have been foreseen. Last, the power went out on the last day to our side of the city which made getting the car out of the garage fun. As stated before, these were just part of the ride and could NOT have been foreseen. The property manager was polite and attentive to all of our needs and promptly returned our calls. Suggestions for the next tenants... flashlights for when the power goes out. Solar lights right by the beach access, super dark back yard, a vacuum for easy sand removal, a few boogie boards for guest enjoyment. Overall, would stay there again if you would have us. Our family made some amazing memories and would stay there again. Thank you!
Barbara V.
Nov 2017
Beautiful Views
Great experience and just what we were expecting from the pictures. Beach was a little smaller than we were expecting, can't lay out in sand. Wish there were paddle boards/boogie boards to use but there was snorkle gear and floats.
Andrew P.
Sep 2017
Great Hawaii experience
My family had a great time at Sunshine Reef. THe house was excellent. The location was great and the house was full of all the amenities you would expect
Jul 2017
Amazing property
This is an amazing property. Literally steps from what is effectively a beautiful private beach. The home has plenty of space to spread out and has every amenity you could ask for. The location is excellent for a ton of North shore adventures.
Apr 2017

Manager Response: Definitely tons of adventure in such a secluded part of the island :)

Amazing Amazing Amazing.
This place is simply WONDERFUL. Everyone seems to agree on here, but it really still doesn't prepare you for just how good the property is. The pictures don't do it justice, you are so much closer to the beach than it looks (and it already looks close!) Honestly, we had the best time. The area is lovely, the supermarket across the road has everything you need. The beach was perfect... we could not have asked for a better stay. Would recommend this property to EVERYONE. We are already planning when we can come back!
Sam S.
Apr 2017

Manager Response: Sam, very generous of you. Sad that it was short lived, since it looks like you LOVED your stay at the home. We look forward to booking you again. MAHALO.

Hawaiian Family Vacation
Our family of 11 stayed at Sunshine Reef for 11 days in January of 2017. We were very satisfied with the home and it's location on the ocean. We truly enjoyed our stay and were especially grateful for the clean and tastefully decorated home and all it's amenities. The staff also responded to our needs in a professional manner.
Robert M.
Feb 2017
Review of E. Sunshine Reef
We had 12 people in two different families renting E. Sunshine Reef over the Christmas holidays. We had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed the house and location. The home was great for a large group as it had so many different sitting areas, there was plenty of space for everyone to spread out. The views were amazing and the rental staff were very attentive to all of our requests and needs while we vacationed.
Jan 2017
Felt like home
We enjoyed the stay at the E Sunshine Reef - North Shore Beach Home. It exceed our expectations in almost every regard. Everything was clean and orderly. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped and very functional. We also enjoyed the hot tub.
The weather was quite windy and rainy during our stay, but the beach was accessible and fun. We spent more time on the west shore of Oahu than we would have normally spent due to the wind.
Nov 2016
Great family place
Had a great time great beach and very clean place
Oct 2016
Amazing location, away from the hustle and bustle!
Pretty amazing experience, I have to say. The email correspondence, the smart phone app, the courtesy calls, perfect.

The house, perfect. Large enough for us to spread out, all the various appliances to make our stay feel like home and having Foodland across the street, even better.

All in all, comfortable beds, air conditioned, perfectly placed for nice sunrises, we are blessed to have the ideal location for years to come.
Pete S.
Aug 2016
A week of complete bliss!
From the minute that the 11 of us arrived at the front door of this beautiful house until we left a week later, we had an amazing time. The house was everything that it was described to be and then some. The staff at VRBO was exceptional. They were at the ready to respond to any question. The location of the house is ideal because your can get to wherever you want to go easily. We will definitely be back again!
Martha S.
Aug 2016
Hawaii Escape to the Northshore
We rented this lovely home before we started our 7 day cruise. Great area, wonderful home, a fabulous experience. Would recommend for family gatherings.
Elizabeth D.
Jul 2016
Perfect Family Vacation Home
This beautiful home is as advertised and more! This home and its included amenities let us begin our vacation as soon as we walked in the door. There were eleven of us total with more than enough room to suit our needs. The home is beautifully decorated and clean. It had everything from the washer/dryer, stocked kitchen, plenty of beach towels, to a place to hang our swimsuits. We lacked for nothing! There are several food trucks to explore down the road, as well as a grocery store across the street. The beach and the views were fantastic. It is a beautiful, quiet respite from the hustle and bustle. There seems to be a couple of resident sea turtles that pay a visit each day too. Our only complaint is that we had to leave this lovely beach home. We would absolutely come back!
Ryan T.
May 2016
Haven by the Sea
Fabulously spacious beachside home right on the water. No worries accommodating ten people (three families) all of varying ages and interests. Had just about everything we needed to self cater in some style. Couldn't fault it for comfort and convenience to facilities. During our stay just after Easter the beach was benign and pretty, with turtles visiting regularly. But be warned those that like a drop to drink may have to drive 15 minutes north or south to buy booze.
Brett Y.
Apr 2016
Family Vacation
The house was perfect and was exactly what my family wanted. It was well equipped and extremely relaxing.
Udarius B.
Apr 2016
Amazing location .... amazing house!
We had an amazing time in the Laie house. The place has a great location, and the house was beautifully clean and well presented. It had everything we could need for our week away, lots of extra touches and it was all easy to find and easy to use. We really appreciated the use of the washer/dryer, as well as beach towels and other holiday equipment.

There were 7 women who stayed for week. The 6 rooms in the house 5 bathrooms and the 11 beds allowed us to all have our space!

The rental agency were FABULOUS to deal with, really easy and attentive. We had no problems and would recommend them again.
Angela M.
Mar 2016
Perfect Family Vacation Home
This trip was a Christmas gift to my adult children and their families. They loved the house and with 6 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms there was plenty of room for all of us. We spent our days on the beach or in the ocean. The house was spotlessly clean and we loved having all the extra amenities even leaving a few extra for the next party to enjoy. This was the perfect house for my family to enjoy their first trip to Hawaii and should we ever go again this would be the first place I would try to book.
Jeanne T.
Mar 2016
A Perfect Getaway
We arrived in Laie and were thrilled with not only the home, but the green grass in the backyard, and the beautiful beach just a few steps away from the house. We spent the first full day on the North Shore driving from beach to beach and found that the one in our back yard was by far the best for swimming, SUP, and just lounging. The only time we left the beach in our backyard was to go surfing. There is a grocery store right across the street so we stocked up the kitchen and ate many meals at home. There is also pizza right across the street and a pretty good burger place.

The home was also perfect. The home was clean, immaculately decorated for beach living, and the kitchen had any appliance we needed. Because we are a blended family of five, we rarely stay in hotels, but prefer to rent homes when we travel. Sunshine reef exceeded all of our expectations and we look forward to returning. This was a perfect vacation!

Cort D.
Mar 2016
Paradise On The Water!
Our stay at the Sunshine Reef beach home was absolutely amazing from the beginning when we walked through the door, to the end when we walked out. The property was magnificent, very meticulously maintained and spotless to say the least. The AC was ice cold, however to be honest we barely needed it, as your so close to the water we just kept the door open for breeze and natural AC. The accommodations were better than we could have hoped for. We had a whopping 15 guests in our group that stayed at the house, however it somehow seemed that we could fit many more. The property layout makes it seem very open and spacious so even with the biggest groups, like ourselves, their is no crowding. Also notable, we had 4 cars in our guest count, and parking was a breeze. The neighbors Tom & Jerry, were great, spent a few nights talking with them in the backyard. The owners went out of there way to help us if we ever needed anything, recommending attractions and restaurants around the area and much more. The description simply didn't do this property justice, it is more than you could put into words. The sound of the roaring ocean from the living room is something you could only dream of. I would absolutely recommend this Sunshine Reef to a friend or family member. As for activities, I would recommend Waimea Bay, Pipeline, and Turtle Beach. The beach itself just off the property is fantastic for paddle boarding and some snorkeling, we seen turtles just off the shore there. We would recommend the Kahuku Grill for food, the coconut shrimp are fantastic, and our favorite shave ice was Angels, just in walking distance from the house. I would also say its noteworthy that there is a local store for groceries etc in walking distance from the house that is open until 11pm. Our only complaint was we simply didn't have more time to spend here, and anxiously await our next return!! Thank you to the owners for the fantastic service and genuine care for their property and guests!
Kevin M.
Jan 2016
A Fun House and Great Location
We stayed at the property for 6 nights. It was very comfortable for all 14 (6 adults and 8 kids) of us to sleep, eat and have fun entertainment with the provided puzzles, games, TV's and of course the beach right out the back door.
The shared drive and backyard were a bit annoying. The neighbors parked on one side of the driveway, completely blocking the drive a time or two not allowing us to pass through the tight half-circle. They also were harpooning coconuts out of the tree in the shared backyard, which I found very disrespectful to the property. I can’t hold that against the property, but I think it is noteworthy that future tenants might have to navigate some disrespectful neighbors.
As far as maintenance, though the office tried and sent a maintenance person out two or three times, the AC never worked right. It only worked one day of the six, which made the house pretty warm. Luckily, the home has a lot of ceiling fans, so it was tolerable.
Additionally, the hot tub was green and sandy when we arrived. We had to test and chemical it from the PH strips and chemicals in the garage, which wasn’t expected. We made it work, but I didn’t figure we would be responsible to make the hot tub suitable for sitting in. Ultimately, it wasn’t a big deal, but just wasn’t quite to the condition I expected upon arrival.
Overall, we would absolutely come back to stay at this home again. We loved the location, as it was close to the activities on the north shore, the PCC, BYUH and the beautiful LDS temple. There was a grocery store and gas station right across the street, which came in very handy. If the AC and hot tub were in better repair, it would have been absolutely perfect.
Dec 2015

Manager Response: The entire central a/c system is being replaced this month. The hot tub is drained and cleaned prior to check in, the guests spoke to office staff and the maintenance person numerous times but never reported that it was dirty. The guests did call the office a few days into their trip to ask where hot tub supplies were - 8 adults and 6 kids using a hot tub regularly will necessitate extra cleaning - but we were under the impression that they were familiar with hot tubs and happy to add the cleaner themselves. We are sorry for misunderstanding this. The driveway is u - shaped, and the neighbors prefer to enter from one side and exit from the other due to lack of visibility when exiting from their own entrance. This is why we ask our guests not to block the "exit" of driveway. However, our guests could simply enter and exit from their own side at all times, the neighbors cars never prevent this and there is plenty of space for everyone. The neighbor himself is rarely at the home, as the house is his second residence, but he currently has one couple staying at his property. The couple is lovely as could be, and very respectful of their neighbors. They were actually doing the neighborhood a great service by taking down coconuts in nearby trees, these can be quite dangerous! We employ a professional company to remove coconuts regularly from the trees at our properties, but it is not an easy task and is quite an expense to owners, so it was quite nice of them to take care of this.

Beautiful home
The place was beautiful and neat. The house is like a townhouse, connected with the adjacent home. They share the garden, but no one was there when we stayed. The equipments are newer, clean and just like the images.

The beach is right off the garden and beautiful. Snorkeling was easy and saw a lot of fish. You may possibly do some surfing as well. The unit is conveniently located at a walking distance to a grocery store. We were a group of 8, but a few more can possibly stay. The unit gets a little humid at night even with the windows open as there is only one AC. The pass code to the door was wrong and we could not get into the unit for an hour, though the after hours property company service gave a new code after a bit of a hustle.
Nov 2015

Manager Response: Thank you for taking the time to review the home. We apologize for the confusion at check in, but do want to note the problem seemed caused by the wrong code being used. This was likely because your family rented two homes from us during your time on Oahu, and had two sets of codes that were not interchangeable. We have since checked the lock thoroughly and it is working perfectly. The home is equipped with central a/c in addition to split a/c units, but I am afraid we did not have detailed instructions regarding their use. We are replacing the entire central air system this December, and will include comprehensive instructions in the house book. Hawaii Beach Homes.

Love Laie Sunshine Reef Beach House
We loved everything about this beach house. We really liked the location. Laie was a very people friendly town with a movie theater and nice places to eat in the town and near by.. The beach was beautiful right in the back yard of the home. We love hearing the waves day and night. We hope to come back soon.
Linda L.
Nov 2015

Manager Response: Linda, you and Michael are the best! Thank you for staying with us yet again, we are so happy you loved the house. See you again soon. Aloha, Sara

Wonderful Wedding Week in Laie
Perfect location, perfect environment, perfect accommodations! We felt very much at home in paradise. We had a great 5 star week!
Philip O.
Oct 2015

Manager Response: Perfect!!! Thank you for taking the time to review, and congratulation to the bride and groom. Mahalo, Sara

This was a last minute trip that turned into the vacation of a lifetime! The house is large, clean, comfortable, and even prettier than the pictures. The beach outside is stunning and we found it quite safe for swimming, something we were concerned about on the North Shore. The property managers were professional and the check in easy, Sarah and Loni were both very helpful throughout our stay. We planned to tour the island extensively, but had such a wonderful time together at the house we ended up spending the majority of our time there. With our oldest going off to university this trip will likely be one of our last together for a while, and it could not have been any better. This is such a special home, we hope to return to it someday.
Oct 2015

Manager Response: What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing it with us. You were excellent guests, we hope to see you again soon! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Write a Review

Your email address will not be published.

    Request More Information