* The Sand Dollar Cottage - Beachfront Waialua


Directly Beachfront | Country Cottage
Bedrooms

1

Baths

1

Sleeps

4

- THE SAND DOLLAR COTTAGE -
Of the 26 charming duplex cottages in the gated Mokuleia Beach Colony, only five actually face the ocean; and this is one of them! You’ll wake to the sound of waves, sit on your open lanai and see nothing but aquamarine water and morning sky. The ocean is right there in front of you, just a few steps away. This beach bungalow was designed in the 1960s and has been decorated by a Hawaiian-born artist, whose paintings of the Mokuleia ocean, sky and landscape hang on the walls.
- THE BEACH -
The Sand Dollar Cottage offers a stunning view of a beach that stretches for miles in either direction; ideal for swimming, walking and snorkeling in the coral reef. You rarely see anyone and have warm water, day and night!
- THE NEIGHBORHOOD -
A twelve minute drive down a country road will take you to the famous surfing town of Haleiwa; where you can dine in one of the many restaurants and shop for clothes, local art, shave ice and fresh fish, steaks and produce. The Colony has a beautiful guest-only pool and five minutes up the road towards Ka’ena Point, there’s kite surfing and skydiving.
- FROM THE OWNERS -
The home has more return guests than any other in our inventory, but after years of 5 star ratings it has recently received some critical reviews. The owners have taken these to heart and have addressed all maintenance issues in the house. Below is a word from the owners:

Aloha to all of our longtime guests. Wanted you to know we spent a couple of weeks in March renovating and restoring 13B. It needed it. You'll find a new kitchen: counters, cabinets, sink, faucet and a new glass-top stove. We also painted the unit, put in a new, higher vanity, sink and faucet, and new outdoor lighting. We restored all the louvers and jalousies that needed it and even added a more powerful modem for better WiFi. We left the ocean view and sunsets alone since no one could improve that.

Smoking strictly prohibited at Mokuleia Beach Colonies, both indoors and outdoors. The State of Hawaii prohibits smoking in public parks and at all beaches. There are no areas near the unit designated for smokers. These bans include e - cigarettes.

** Please call for more info **


HAWAII TAX ID T-133-742-1824 Local Contact: Hawaii Beach Homes

Amenities

General
  • Parking
Leisure Activities
  • Photography
Location Type
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Outside
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool Spa
  • Communal Pool
Sports And Adventure Activities
  • Golf
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
Living
  • Bathtub
  • Ironing Board
  • Large Outdoor Covered Patio
  • Linens, Bath and Beach Towels
  • Ceiling Fans
Business
  • Wireless High Speed Internet
Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cookware
  • Dishes and Utensils
  • Full Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Outdoor
  • BBQ Grill
  • Beachcombing
  • Patio
  • Sight-Seeing
  • Snorkeling
  • Surfing
  • Swimming
Family
  • Beach
Convenience
  • Haleiwa Town
Geographic
  • Exceptional Sunsets
  • Exceptional Views
  • On Beach
  • Quiet Neighborhood
Show All
SeasonPeriodMin.StayNightlyWeeklyMonthly
I. October 2019 Specials10/1/2019 - 10/31/20193$165$1155
J. November 2019 Specials11/1/2019 - 11/23/20193$165$1155
6. Thanksgiving 2019 +11/24/2019 - 11/30/20193$225$1575
J. November 2019 Specials12/1/2019 - 12/17/20193$165$1155
7. December Holiday Season 2019 +12/18/2019 - 1/6/20204$295$2065
1. January - Mid April 2020 +1/7/2020 - 4/14/20207$1225$5250
2. Mid April - May 31st 2020 +4/15/2020 - 5/31/20207$1155$4950
3. June, July, August 2020 +6/1/2020 - 8/31/20207$1225$5250
4. September, October 2020 +9/1/2020 - 10/31/20207$1225$5250

Reviews

Amazing location
The beach is your backyard. Listening to the waves at night is truly paradise.
Property is well maintained and pool is a bonus. We will definitely come back and stay longer.
Guest
Sep 2019
Hawaii-great vacation




It was a great experience.I did not have any difficulty.
liviu c.
Jun 2019
Quite location with a beautiful view
Beautiful place to stay. We were right on the beach. Some renovations were going on while we were there and we did have some trouble with our parking. They also started demoing our roof the day before we left. Other than that we had a great stay. It was clean and well kept up
Jackelin C.
Apr 2019

Manager Response: Hi Jackelin, - Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. The repair was not scheduled for the date they started on, we have contacted the condo association to get more information so other guests are not surprised by such things. Thank you so much for your understanding. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Gorgeous and peaceful
Wonderful Unit and fabulous location.
David M.
Mar 2019

Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Oceanfront property
Fantastic, quiet beachfront condo.
Guest
Feb 2019

Manager Response: Mahalo for your kind review, we are so happy you had a good time at our cottage!

Paradise Found!
Our family of four loved our stay at the Sand Dollar Cottage. We had a late arrival, and it was a little tricky finding our way around in the dark, but a call to Hawaii Beach Rentals was very helpful. The view from the cottage is amazing, just feet from the ocean. We spent a lot of time on the patio every day, and had the pool to ourselves every time we went. The grounds were like a botanical garden, just beautiful. Loved everything about it, right down to the friendly geckos!
Guest
Dec 2018
Best beachfront condo in Oahu
We stayed for a week and had the Time of our lives. We ended up skydiving after watching them jump every day. The rental was clean inside and out with all the amenities you need. The view at night was perfect, and we seen numerous shooting stars.
Guest
Dec 2018
Peaceful Paradise
Our vacation, For my Wife's Birthday was incredible at " The Sand Dollar" !This cottage, "one side of a duplex" right on the ocean is fantastic! Vary enjoyable , because it was so relaxing and yet the sounds of the pounding surf lulled us to sleep at night. Because it's location is so far from any city lights , the stars you can see at night were awe inspiring as well. The property is in the midst of several duplex units with winding sidewalks, with mature flora & fauna all around. The aroma of flowers was so intense !!! The interior was simple but comfortable. We found the kitchen adequate with coffee maker, blender, pots& pans , utensils o.k. We needed a cutting board, not found. The BBQ grill was small and in need of replacement. we also needed more linens , One set of bedsheets and bathrooms towels is a big negative. There is a coin laundry on the property at the other end in the management office. The horses at the polo fields next to the property were fun to watch as well.Over all we were very pleased with the property and location! It is within 20 min. of all the neat stuff on the north shore. we will be back!! The property mgt. team was vary helpful with all our needs, and made our experience vary comfortable!! If you want to get away from all the commercial crazyness of big city lights. The Sand Dollar is the place!!! Aloha & Mahalo !
.
William P.
Sep 2018
Wonderful services Hawaii Beach Homes!
We stayed 8nights. Your services were wonderful. Very quick action! We were really satisfied with your service!
We certainly reserve next vacation Hawaii Beach Homes.
Thanks again!

Best Regards.

R.M
Guest
Aug 2018
North Shore paradise
Awesome location. The unit needs a little TCL but the location more than makes up for it. Was a little hot with no A/C in the summer but sitting on the luani with the ochen right there. WOW!!!
Guest
Aug 2018
Sand Dollar Cottage review
We had a wonderful time. The cottage really is right on the water, and we made good use of the facilities. Only draw back for us was no AC, because it was in the 90's during our stay.
Sandra E.
Aug 2018
Sand Dollar Cottage
We enjoyed our stay at the Sand Dollar Cottage and will definitely return. The location is quiet and stunningly beautiful. We enjoyed swimming, snorkeling, hiking, beach walking. Nearby Haleiwa had wonderful dining and shopping. This is a great way to relax!
Carolyn H.
Jun 2018
Stunningly situated north shore beachfront duplex
Amazing peaceful location right on the beach! Sleeps 3 comfortably. Great kitchen, bathroom & facilities. Comfortable & an easy 30 minutes from Waikiki / Honolulu. Lots of things to see & experience on the north shore t. Awesome location for those looking for a place to rest after a big day exploring. BYO all food including condiments, foil wrap etc but great cooking facilities. Door is a little tricky to open but do it before it times out. Loved it! Great stay!
Amanda H.
Jun 2018
Very nice and relaxing!
Very quaint and comfortable with a great view! This was one of the most relaxing vacations I’ve had largely due to the area and view. We thoroughly enjoyed it stay. This is a place we would definitely stay again. We loved this place-only had a few minor problems. The chairs on the patio were falling apart. They need to be replaced so someone doesn’t fall through. There was a stain on one of the bedspreads that was yellowish. The bathroom door sticks. I got stuck in there twice trying to get out for several minutes before it finally opened. The BBQ lid is almost falling off.
Kristin M.
Jun 2018
Winter on the north shore
We had a fantastic time and the location is amazing. We saw some turtles and whales (though a ways off shore) from the lanai. We sat and watched the ocean every morning. Going to sleep and waking to the sound of the waves was wonderful. Also being able to see the ocean from the bed was great.

There are a couple beaches that are a short walk away to walk on. There is a sea-wall directly in front of the cottage that has some sand but really only accessible when the tide is low. Our favorite beach was about a 5min drive (just past the end of the small airport) which has perfect soft sand and hardly any people. This area of the island is very quiet and restful. The small nearby town has plenty of food and shopping but is also slower paced like we wanted.

The cottage itself is a little on the rustic side and we were slightly disappointed when we first arrived but that soon didn't matter since most of our time was spent outside and the price was right. We would absolutely return to this location.
Ron P.
Feb 2018
Loved the view, but......
If your priority is being mesmerized by the ocean, this is the place for you. The porch is a few steps from the water, and we sat there for hours. If your priority is an upscale property, not so much. The website pictures oversell the property somewhat. The refrigerator is not as nice as the one shown, and it makes a lot of noise. The living room is quite dark at night, so would suggest the lighting be upgraded. The TV remote didn’t work during our stay. The BBQ hadn’t been cleaned in some time. It’s about a 10-15 minute drive to Haleiwa and services, so keep that in mind depending on your needs. For a Hawaii rental, the price is reasonable.
Guest
Feb 2018
Oasis
Very nice secluded out of the way of tourists and away from the busy traffic of Oahu. Hear the crash of waves and the music of songbirds. Just a short distance from a wonderful hike to an albatross refuge and protected area.
Theodore K.
Jan 2018
Anniversary Vaca
The property was excellent. Just the right size for two people. Location was very quiet and secluded which was nice to come back to after doing touristy stuff all day. The pictures showed a little beach area off the back of the house, but the water was too high so we just went down the street to the public access. Also would have been nice if the home had AC. It was a bit hot although it did cool down some in the evening.
Nancy R.
Sep 2017
Ideal Location almost on top of ocean
The location & the cottage were excellent for a North Shore stay. We would definitely recommend & would not consider staying anywhere else. Unit is right on top of the ocean for excellent view (no beach). Unfortunately, the breezes do not make it inside & the cinder block walls keep the unit unbearably sweltering hot during the day in the week we were there in August. Unit has been recently updated, décor is very beachy, original art is phenomenal. The only suggestions we have are to add more electrical fans (2 are not enough in August). Also, suggest management company makes sure everything is clean (we had to take the one working electrical fan apart & clean with hose before use)& working (fans, remote controls, etc.) before guest arrival. Strong wifi. Security gate. Quiet community. Only 6 miles from town, but you feel worlds away. The best beaches just west past the condo community. From the Lanai, we could see the ocean, the mountains, sunset, sunrise, multiple rainbows, distant rain showers, kite surfers, parachutists, etc.
Guest
Aug 2017
" Old Hawai'i "
Very Nice
Guest
Jul 2017
The Best!
Great unit, amazing views, wonderful property. We will be back for sure!
Teri S.
Jul 2017
Quiet & Relaxing
PROS: Nice little beach cottage in a quiet area on the North Shore. Easily hear the sound of the ocean at night and the sunsets are beautiful. Horse property next door. Town is a 15 minute car ride away (this can be good or bad depending on who you are). Neighbors are friendly and the grounds are well maintained. The cottage itself was nice and clean.
CONS: Although there is no beach in front of the seawall, you can walk to the beach next door at low tide. Shower area could use some updating. No air conditioning (but they have fans!). Town is a 15 minute car ride away.
Guest
May 2017
Absolutely Dreamy??
We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the water in The Sand Dollar Cottage. The location was perfection, with wonderful people nearby and a horse farm next door! We were mesmerized by the view and entertained watching surfers and whales. Close to shopping and far from crowds??
MaryJane M.
Feb 2017
Hawaii Trip 2016
Absolutely wonderful! The grounds area was always clean. It was very peaceful and quiet there. The view was amazing? You looked out the patio doors and the ocean is right there. Sleeping to the sound of the ocean waves is so relaxing. We have recommended to our parents and would do so to anyone who wants a peaceful beachside area.
Guest
Dec 2016
Sand Dollar Cottage ROCKS!
The Sand Dollar Cottage is tucked away is a quiet corner of Oahu. If you LOVE to hear to sound of the ocean, this is the place for you. Due to the big waves of the North Shore, there isn't a beach but that didn't matter to us. We LOVED this place and can't WAIT to return!!!
Lorri Q.
Nov 2016
Great location
Lovely beach cottage very near the sea. We loved the location up on the north coast. Very quiet area. cottage is not luxurious but clean with new work tops in kitchen and vanity area. Loved sitting on the patio every morning overlooking the sea. Would highly recommend, you defiantly need a car.
KAREN M.
Sep 2016
Quiet rest
The condo was in a quiet area and you could enjoy the ocean waves all night. No AC so if this is a problem not for you. We opened all windows and there were fans and we were comfortable. Loved the ocean right there so we could jump in whenever we wanted. Farther away if you want to do all tourist things. We went out a couple days but thoroughly enjoyed just being by ocean and very few people. Condo was older but maintained well. Charming in the "old" Hawaii style. Loved that. Clean, only complaint was sofa and chairs very uncomfortable. Seems the norm in all places we've stayed other than hotels. Bed was fine.
Linda D.
Aug 2016
Great place to getaway
Very nice.
Hampered only by a Tropical Storm!!
Guest
Jul 2016
Sand Dollar fan
This was my second stay at this cottage and again I cried as I packed to return home. The combination of the ocean literally at your door, mountains on the back side and the beautiful flowers on the grounds, providing the sweet exotic fragrance of pikaki the moment you awake makes this place number one on my list of homes away from home. The ocean can be super loud and the geckos will join you inside...and the drive for groceries can be ways out. Ahhh, island life. I miss it so much already . Mahalo!
Nadine B.
Jun 2016
LOVED the Sand Dollar Cottage!!!
This quaint little cottage is in an amazing location with beautiful views and wonderful local residents.Very relaxing and peaceful! The management people were attentive and helpful. We will definitely return.
Guest
Jun 2016
Relaxing Getawau
The newly remodeled kitchen and bathroom area were greatly appreciated. The location is lovely, with views of the kite boarders and the parachutists an added dimension of the North Shore ambiance. Suggestions: Fix the pots and pan shelving and the lock box and buy better frying pans.
Mary Ellen B.
May 2016
Peace and quiet
Peaceful environment, quiet location, calm serf, long beach. This trip was arranged last minute and although I had to wait two hours to check in, as it was being cleaned, I was able to swim in the pool. It was very nice. Have already planned another stay here for my next trip! Thank you??????
Jennifer F.
Sep 2015
Sand Dollar Cottage a Winner!
open, airy, fully equipped bungalow facing the ocean! We stayed 5 nights, slept like babies to the sound of crashing waves. This house has everything you could possibly want at the beach, from snorkels to paddle balls, you can watch the sunsets from the patio.. We loved it!! Beach access also a huge plus. Mahalo
Guest
Jul 2015
Right on the beach
Great place to stay with loved ones
James K.
May 2015

Manager Response: Aloha James, Thank you for your nice review :) Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

40 yr reunion
Very nice
Guest
Mar 2015

Manager Response: Hi Kurt, We are so happy that for your 40th reunion your experience was very nice! We hope to host you again real soon :) Aloha, Hawaii Beach Homes

March 2015 Retreat
Couldn't be happier with my stay at the SDC during my vacation. Place is ideally situated and afforded unobstructed views of the ocean and surrounding mountains. Place was very tidy and spacious. Haliewa is nearby and although the nearest Foodland is a few miles away the views along the drive are well worth the distance. Hated to leave.
David B.
Mar 2015

Manager Response: Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed The SDC! This unit is perfect for true relaxation :) We hope to host you again at The SDC! Aloha, Hawaii Beach Homes

Million $ view
I didn't really know where I wanted to stay... I didn't want the crazy city life of Waikiki, we wanted to decompress and reconnect, we nailed it with this place. Our mouths dropped when we saw how close the water was to the unit. It is right there!! It was perfect for 2 people, but we were talking if we brought friends how it would be, I think you could do 4 maybe 5 People with no problem. This place is a cute little beach cottage with everything you need to get started, we were here for 9 days and it was very hard to leave. Everyone in the complex was very nice to us, it was nice to get to know the locals at the pool. We will be back!
Jimmie R.
Feb 2015

Manager Response: Aloha Jimmie, We appreciate your wonderful review of The Sand Dollar. This beach cottage really has a wonderful true Hawaii feel! We look forward to hosting you again nest year :) Having an ocean view really makes a wonderful difference when you are on vacation! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Perfect Home away from Home!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Sand Dollar Beach Cottage! It was exactly as we envisioned and exactly as it was pictured on the website. The gated community is very safe and quiet - the only noise was the sound of the surf! If the cottage was any closer to the ocean you'd be in it. We had just a couple of issues after arriving which were quickly taken care after a phone call to Hawaii Beach Homes. Everything in the cottage was in working condition - the kitchen and bathroom could use some TLC but were well equipped with whatever you may need. It was very clean upon check in. The queen bed was super comfy! Watching the 30 to 40 foot waves at Bonzai and Sunset Beach were amazing! You can rent beach cruisers to ride the bike path from Shark's Cove up to Sunset Beach. Haleiwa is a really neat town to explore - lots of neat shops and markets. Waimea valley is beautiful and the hike to the falls was perfect. Dillingham airfield is close to the cottage for sky-diving. It was a 100% change of pace from Waikiki - I wish we had stayed at the cottage the whole vacation and skipped Waikiki altogether!
Guest
Feb 2015

Manager Response: Aloha Philip, We too think The Sand Dollar is a perfect home away from home! The Sand Dollar is safe and a well taken care of community! We are happy to read that you will soon return to The Sand Dollar! The waves during this time of year are truly amazing, we are so happy to read that you took advantage of this wonderful setting. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

A kamaina staycation
The futon made a very uncomfortable sofa. It has a weird pitch at the back and the mattress did not stay put. I don't know why it is there because it had brackets attached that prevented it from being opened. A normal sofa and a King size bed would be a huge upgrade.
Guest
Jan 2015

Manager Response: Aloha Laure, Thank you for taking the time to review The Sand Dollar Cottage. We appreciate your feedback about the sofa. The bed size that is currently currently 1 queen size bed and 2 twin beds. The owner feels that since this is a 1 bedroom the sleeping arrangement are great for medium size groups. The area in the bedroom would make a king size bedroom take away from more floor space. We hope you took advantage of being beachfront with a pool! We look for an opportunity to host you again in the future. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

aaahhhhhhhhh, the warmth of the ocean...the sounds...the smells..
I used to live in one of these cottages...they have not changed a bit. they are not Waikiki or Turtle Bay...that's exactly why you come to this little escape away from all the hubbub and tourist traps....reasonable in price it is clean and well kept. There are very few others visitors and the beach is empty of any souls....not a person on the beach....big waves....wonderful stay....mahalo nui loa
Paul W.
Dec 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Paul, We enjoyed you staying with us at The Sand Dollar! We are happy to read that a once home owner still enjoys visiting this wonderful kept secret!We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us :) Happy Holidays, Hawaii Beach Homes

Perfect Beachfront Cottage
Perfect little get away for my wife and I. We loved to enjoy our coffee in the morning while listening to the waves break on the wall.
Sofia V.
Dec 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Patrick, We appreciate you taking the time to review this property. The Sand Dollar is a great couples retreat! We are happy to read that you enjoyed hearing the waves crest at the sea wall. Glad to read you enjoy fresh coffee beachfront! We look forward to hosting you again in the future :) Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Awesome location!!!!
Our cottage was exactly as we expected. The ocean was steps away the cottage is as described on listing. We loved it hated to leave!!!
Guest
Oct 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Pamela, Thank you for taking the time to review about The Sand Dollar Cottage. This paradise is truly beachfront with a wonderful pool!. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next visit in the future. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Cozy beachfront cottage
very charming small condo right on the beach was perfect for my husband and I. We had everything we needed and will definitely be returning.
Sofia V.
Sep 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Robert, The Sand Dollar is a true charming condo right on the beach! We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Cozy Condo
Very charming, the perfect getaway for my wife and I. The reservation staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Zoe and Jessica. We had one small issue with a coffee maker but a new one was brought to us the same day. Will definitely be coming back many times over.
Sofia V.
Sep 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Robert, Thank for sharing your review about The Sand Dollar Cottage. We try our best to make sure that all of our guests are well taken care of :) We look forward to your many visits and hope to help you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Idyllic location
Fantastic location - very quiet and peaceful! We so enjoyed our stay here and definitely would choose to stay here again.
The bungalow could use a little updating but it did not detract us from having a marvelous time.
Guest
Jul 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to review The Sand Dollar. It is a very quiet location and it is a peaceful destination. We will pass along the updating suggestions to the owner. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Ocean side beauty
Lovely location with turtles surfacing outside the front door, our only criticism was a dishwasher that did not work and plumbing in the kitchen that made things harder to keep clean.
Mary Ellen B.
Jul 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Mary, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please note we did replace the part in the dishwasher the next day and solved the plumbing issue. We are happy to hear you got to see turtles! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Perfect
The view is just perfect. Wonderful.
tara s.
Jun 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Tara, The view is just perfect! Thank you for taking the time to review The Sand Dollar! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Beautiful Sunsets!
The location of this bungalow is absolutely perfect - right at the water's edge. Listening to the waves at night really gave us a sense of peacefulness and we felt so lucky to see a gorgeous sunset every night. People from bungalows further back from the beach would bring chairs up to sit and enjoy the sunset. Also enjoyed walking the beach each day and spending hours with the kids in the water. Sunday afternoon Polo match next door was fun to check out too! Would be nice to update the apt though. Needs a little love and care. Management was very responsive and helpful though - brought us an extra fan as soon as I sent an email! Thank you! Never did see the fix-it guy who was supposed to repair the dishwasher though. Oh well, we weren't bothered with it anyway. Love the location though, so we will be back!
Suzanne M.
Jun 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Suzanne, We appreciate you taking the time to review The Sand Dollar. Waves are a nice touch of peacefulness! We look forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Peaceful & Relaxing part of Oahu
Have stayed in this complex several times in other units. Although this unit could use a facelift in the kitchen ad definitely the bathroom our stay was great. The place is comfortable, well equipped, and the location on the water is perfect. Proximity to Honolulu is fine as we love the peace and quiet vs. the brutal traffic on the H1 thru Honolulu. Recommendations; ask the owner to update the bath. It doesn't need to be fancy, but newer fixtures and a vanity not made for a munchkin would be good. If you are tall, be prepared to bend way over to brush your teeth. Overall, we enjoyed it and would stay again. Thank you.
Sam W.
May 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Sam, Thank you for taking the time to review The Sand Dollar Cottage. Thank you for suggesting the bathroom updates, we will make sure the owner is aware. We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

North Shore delight
This condo sits right next to the ocean so you can sit on the patio and listen to the waves. The beach is very narrow and soft here, so not too good for walking. Sometimes the wind came directly across the ocean and made it cold but generally comfortable. There is no air conditioning, but it was not needed. Some of the window louvres are not functional, so some needed to be propped open. The blinds do not block the light.
Guest
May 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Roger, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Sand Dollar. We too think This is a "North Shore Delight" We look forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Sand Dollar Cottage
Excellent location. The unit is a bit dated and could use some up grades. Well maintained and clean grounds. Parking spaces are too narrow for many vehicles. Extra add on non refundable fees were not expected, and details in the welcome packet need to be more specific (gate code, street address,key box number, etc.) A very good rental that just needs a little more attention.
Guest
Feb 2014

Manager Response: Aloha Kathryn, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry to hear that you were having trouble arriving at night in the rain. After your suggestions we did take the time to review the move in instructions and everything was clear on our end. We also do offer 24 hour emergency contact information. We also allow our guests once full payment is received to have the full address. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the home as well as the cleanliness of the property. We look forward to hosting you in the future! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Quiet and peaceful getaway
Great place to get away from the city hustle and bustle. Just what we were looking for. Miles of beach to walk on with very few people. Enjoyed just relaxing at pool also. Great (not so little) bungalow that is much better than a hotel!! The management company was very friendly and easy to work with! Thanks!!
Guest
Dec 2013

Manager Response: We are very glad you folks enjoyed your stay! Aloha, Hawaii Beach Homes

The Pacific at your Back Door
Location was unreal!
During our stay Surf was incredible !
Facility well maintained and staff very helpful.
the grounds are beautiful and several beaches in walking distance but no shopping close by so you need a vehicle.
Robert Y.
Dec 2013

Manager Response: Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Wonderful week in Hawaii
My husband and I greatly enjoyed our vacation at the sand dollar cottage. It was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed every meal on the lanai. The sound of the surf just outside our cottage was relaxing and not too loud to sleep. We would sit on the nearby beach or lanai and watch the sea turtles. Overall, wonderful Hawaiian vacation!
Bonnie O.
Nov 2013

Manager Response: Much Mahalos, Hawaii Beach Homes

Perfect North Shore Getaway
I have been staying at different properties on the North Shore for years, this home is an excellent value and I will rent it again. The views are glorious, and Sarah at Hawaii Beach Homes is always a delight to work with. Mahalo!
Guest
Nov 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Sara, We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the home. We would love to have you back anytime and yes, Sarah is great. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

A LITTLE BIT OF PARADISE
THE COTAGE WAS ADORABLE VERY CLEAN AND IT HAD THAT MILLION DOLLAR VIEW . THE ONLY DRAWBACK WAS THE RUDE NEIGHBOR WHO TOLD ME I COULDNOT SMOKE ON THE LANAI. THIS ISSUE SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY THE OWNER. OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS FABOULAS ! IF YOU LIKE THE SOUNDS OF THE OCEAN THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY.
Guest
Nov 2013

Manager Response: Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Will return
We had a great time at the colony. Hawaii Beach Homes was very responsive to our questions. Unit could sleep 6. Beach was rocky. It was a great place to get away from the busy life in town/Waikiki.
Patti S.
Oct 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Patricia,We would love to have you back anytime. We look forward to seeing you. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes.

nearly perfect!
perfect location but needs a few touches to make excellent.

please supply bath mats and toilet brush, plus an extra light blanket
also need to give customer the gate code so they can park on the property and the proper ID# of the unit, as labeled on the building.
Guest
Oct 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Deborah,We appreciate your feedback, we will be bringing some bath mats, blankets, and a toilet brush to the unit prior to the next guest checking in. The gate code and the unit number are located in the move-in instructions. We are very glad you enjoyed the home. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Great Place!
My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary here for a week and had a wonderful at the cottage. The full kitchen was very nice to cook our own meals and the ocean waves were splendid to go to bed and wake up to. This cottage is right on the beach. There is about a 6 foot retaining wall between the patio and the beach (the small waves come all the way up to the retaining wall). The decorations were very Hawaiian and everything worked well for us. The bathroom and kitchen were a little dated in terms of construction but we were more interested in proximity to the beach and ocean. The grounds that this cottage is a part of (Mokuleia Beach Colony) are beautiful and peaceful. I would highly recommend this to others and we will definitely be going back.
Russell H.
Sep 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Harringtons, We would love to have you back anytime! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Very good.
Excellent overall.
Gary G.
Aug 2013

Manager Response: Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Beach Time
It was great. It would be nice to have one bar of soap in the shower, It would be nice to have more than 2 kitchen towels, one a day would be nice. the unit needs new non stick frying pans
Marnie W.
Jul 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Marnie,Thank you for taking time out of your day to write this review and we appreciate your feedback. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Look no further.....
Look no further, you have found the perfect vacation spot if you are looking for breathtaking views,a friendly atmosphere, a laid back environment,quiet beautiful surroundings and a comfortable dwelling.
Lisa T.
Jul 2013

Manager Response: We appreciate you taking time out to write this review. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

marvellous but...
The property of bungalows is magnificent (situation, maintenance, park and lawns, thiarés trees, swimming pool). The rented bungalow itself is situated at best face sea, it is fantastic; on the other hand, its maintenance is very bad, utensils cooking are insufficient and the global cleanliness is perfectible (dishes not washed for a long time, outside premises of accessories stinky recommend only if cleanliness make efforts...
Jean-Christophe D.
Jul 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Jean,Thank you for your feedback, we are working on correcting the maintenance issues you have brought up. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes.

Tranquility in paradise

A perfect escape
Louis D.
May 2013

Manager Response: Aloha Louis,Much Mahalos for your review. We would love to have you back, Hawaii Beach Homes

I'll be back
This vacation spot is worthy of best possible reviews and has virtually everything set up so that you immediately get into the swing of relaxing and being on holidays. I am surprised at how much opportunity there is to fish and snorkle because of the easy access to the beach and you only realize this by being here. Fish right off the walkway overlooking the ocean while your family suntans on the lawn. Things are set up so that once you are settled and groceries are in the fridge you can stay the intire holiday without leaving before you go home.
Ivan K.
Mar 2013

Manager Response: Thanks for staying with us again, Ivan. See you next year! Mahalo, Amanda and Sara

Northshore country living
Stayed in another unit in this complex years ago. Located right next to beach, pleasant to sit on lanai for meals. Cottage is showing some age though everything clean & functional. Grounds are beautiful. Not as much privacy as I had hoped--neighbors are affected by sounds, smells--they have many rules of behavior to follow. We still had a great time.
Guest
Mar 2013
it's very nice place !!!!
mahalo for the very nice "vacation " aloha
Olivier H.
Jan 2013

Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!
ALOHA! Words can't even begin to describe how wonderful our getaway experience was at the Sand Dollar Cottage! Everything was absolutely perfect! The bungalow is positioned oceanfront and offers spectacular sweeping views of the ocean, beach and mountainsides. The sunrises and sunsets from the private lanai were breathtaking! The ocean is so close that we felt like we spent a week on a private boat/yacht. We enjoyed the sea turtles dancing in the water, watching the kite surfers glide in the air and glisten across the water off in the distance, parachuter's float in the sky above the ocean and the constant sounds of the ocean waves! We even had a couple of gorgeous rainbows stretch across the ocean and skies! The Mokuleia Beach Colony is very quiet, quaint and magical! The guests and residents were all extremely friendly and lovely people! You really can walk for what seems like miles and hardly see anyone. The long stretch of beach is beautiful and private! The small outlying towns are quiet and away from the chaos of the city. The beaches along the North Shore were some of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen on the Hawaiian Islands! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cannot wait to go back! We have a lot of friends and acquaintances that have asked for us to send the links to the Sand Dollar to them so that they can enjoy the ultimate experience on their next trip to the North Shore! MAHALO! Howard & Wendi :)
Guest
Nov 2012

Manager Response: Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here, and hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

First time to north shore, Oahu
We had a nice experience at D4 sand Dollar. The view was amazing, right on the ocean. The unit could really use updating. The unit is about 15 min from the closest town which wasn't bad. We liked sitting outside watching the sunrise and sunset, but the furniture was not comfortable enough to sit out for very long. And the futon in side was really uncomfortable. Just a few updating I would give it 5 stars.
DeAnna F.
Oct 2012

Manager Response: The Sand Dollar Cottage has had small renovations, new appliances added, and has also been redecorated. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Vacation
Our stay at this vacation home was a wonderful experience. The ocean with a bit of beach is right in front of you and it is wonderful to be able to sit on the deck and enjoy the ocean and sea turtles bobbing around. The beach in front of this house is not really a good swimming beach but there is one a short walking distance away. The house itself is very dated and every much in need of some repair and upgrading! It was clean and for those who can live with dated and in need of some work, it is a good choice.
Guest
Sep 2012

Manager Response: We are constantly working to improve our homes, and feedback from guests is extremely helpful. We have just added new appliances, including a fridge and stove/oven. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Short Getaway
Nice and secluded. Expected like other rentals that washer/dryer were in the place. The general information did not include that one would need to bring quarters for the laundry facilities and a specific spot to park in (only one car). Read notebook in the cottage. Comfortable for not more than 4 adults at most.
Guest
Aug 2012

Manager Response: There is a laundymat on site, and the unit has one parking stall. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Paradise -- North Shore Style
The property was great -- you can't beat the view -- right on the water. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the waves roll in, the turtles playing in the waves and the parasailers from Dillingham field. Every evening the neighbors came out to watch the sunset. A quick drive into Haleiwa for meals or "shave ice" and just a bit further up the coast for many beaches with the chance to snorkel or surf or just play in the waves.
Guest
Jun 2012

Manager Response: Thank you for the nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here, and hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

A Gem, Don't miss this!
This house is just as the pictures show and it is directly on the beach. The patio setting feels like you are on a boat -- its so close to the water. The setting is somewhat remote and therefore blissfully quiet. Many walks on the beach with no one else for as far as you could see. The house is simple, but who cares with a setting like this. We slept 4 (2 adults, 2 teenagers) very comfortably. Bring an extra fan for better sleeping at night. Friendly, very nice neighbors. Love it! We'll be back!
Guest
Jun 2012

Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes

Beautiful piece of Paradise!
The property was just what we expected, it was perfect for our stay, were not ones for big hotels and luxury resorts, we like to be off the beaten path and this property provided those needs,We had two little lizards greet us upon arrival and they were there every night after that. The property was quiet the neighbors where very friendly,and the grounds were well maintained, there are only two things I would do to improve upon the first being maybe consider adding curtains to the bedroom area window just for a little added privacy, and second the furniture on the lanai was a little uncomfortable. Other than that we loved every minute while we were there and will be certainly be returning next year.
Glen S.
Mar 2012

Manager Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had such a great time in Hawaii, see you again soon! Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Exellent place to relax
Mokuleia Colony is a lovely, quiet place.
John & Carol M.
Mar 2012

Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes

Vacation 2012
As always, beautiful!
Richard M.
Mar 2012

Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us again, Richard! Mahalo, Sara

Heaven
We enjoyed our stay and can hardly wait to return!
Dan & Helen M.
Feb 2012

Manager Response: We are so happy you liked the house! Hope to see you soon. Mahalo, Hawaii Beach Homes

Paradise!
We had a wonderful vacation at the cottage . The beaches are very secluded and private. Sunshine, rainbows what more could anyone want! We plan to return soon.
Dan & Helen M.
Jan 2012

Manager Response: Mahalo! Hawaii Beach Homes

Sand Dollar Review
My husband and I rented the SD for our 8 yr. anniversary. The location was gorgeous and perfect, just what we wanted. I was a bit disappointed by all of the extra "fees" included. The unit is priced at $150 a night but with all of the extra fees it was much more. This should be indicated on the website. Also, I live in HI and know that there are going to be insects in homes, however the cottage has a SERIOUS ant problem. Every time I went to take a bath/shower, I had to clean the tub as there were literally 400 ants. We wrapped up our food tightly every night and still found ants in our bread, sugar and leftover, despite putting them in Tupperware. I still very much enjoyed my stay and would love to stay there (or another of your properties again), but for a lesser price. Maybe you should offer email discounts for students/kama'aina or frequent visitors? We have many friends and family visit that we could book for. In any case, thank you for a fun stay on the beach!
Katie Y.
Nov 2011

Manager Response: Thank you for staying with us, Happy Anniversary! Hawaii Beach Homes

Request More Information