- THE SKY HOUSE -
This stylish Honolulu home features endless views of the Pacific, a solar heated salt water pool, and contemporary interior design. The Sky House has three bedrooms, four bathrooms, a fully stocked kitchen, and a spacious covered sundeck. Most rooms have incredible views of the ocean, sunsets, and Diamond Head. Other features include a formal dining area, two living rooms, and two outdoor areas for dining and relaxing. Sky House has a/c in all bedrooms, high speed wi-fi, off street parking, bbq grill, poolside wet bar and laundry room. The pool does not have a fence around it so the home is not recommended for small children. This is a private house, no other home, tenant or caretaker is on this property. The home sleeps a total of 8 guests, please see below for a detailed description of beds. Please note bed for 7th and 8th person are futons or the sofa.
- NEARBY BEACHES -
Sky House is close to a number of beaches and surf breaks, while famous Haunama Bay is practically in the back yard. The home is in walking distance to various beach access paths, these lead to small sandy beaches or seaside cliffs. Spitting Cave and China Walls are both located in this neighborhood. One mile from the house is one of the most beautiful coastal roads in Hawaii. Along its shores you will find spots for whale watching, tide pools, Sandy Beach, and Makapua Beach & Lighthouse. The scenic drive ends at gorgeous Waimanalo Beach, a local favorite that has miles of soft sand and excellent swimming. All of the above are within 8 miles of your front door.
- THE NEIGHBORHOOD -
Sky House is located in the Portlock community, one of the most exclusive areas on the island. Portlock is in the eastern side of Honolulu and the neighborhood is very safe and family friendly. Nearby you will find plenty of grocery stores, including Whole Foods and Costco, drug stores, casual restaurants, upscale dining and boutiques. Haunama Bay is nearby for snorkeling, other close-by activities include hiking, parasailing, jet skiing, hang gliding, and golfing. The home is located close to major highway access for day trips. Waikiki is short drive away.
BEDROOMS : Three Total
One : 1 King, Full ensuite bathroom
Two: 1 Queen, Full ensuite bathroom
Three: 2 Twins, Full ensuite bathroom
Other: Sleeper sofa in living room for 7th or 8th guests. The fourth bathroom is a half bath.
Things to note: There is covered parking for two cars. The garage is not available for guest use. AC in bedrooms only; fans throughout home.
** This property only accepts one booking per 30 day period. If a full 30 day hold is not available, we will not be able to rent the home.**
HAWAII TAX ID T Local Contact: Hawaii Beach Homes
I felt like I was in a movie
I have never in my life been taken back with views like this! All day the blue just shimmered in the ocean. The out door entertaining deck was a plus. The huge master bathroom suite was great and the pool! I felt that we were staying on set for Hawaii 5-0. Great office team too!
Manager Response: Aloha Jessica,
Thank you for sharing your great experience at The Sky House. This property has large bedrooms & a wonderful view of the sea! We are happy to read that you and your guests enjoyed this property and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Hawaii Beach Homes
First trip to Hawaii and first time renting a home
Overall the house was fabulous, but I wouldn't say it sleeps 8 comfortablly, six is perfect. The pool water was really cold, would be nice warmer. All the amenities were great. The scenery was fab, we were very satisified.
Manager Response: Aloha Lilia,
I will let the owners know so we can figure out a more comfortable sleeping arrangement for the 7th and 8th guest. I apologize about the pool as well, it should have solar heating unless it was rainy for a couple of days. Other than that we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hawaii Beach Homes
We had a great time and really enjoyed the Skyhouse. My kids loved the pool in the middle of the house! The view was amazing and the deck was great for meals and viewing the beautiful bay. The beds were very comfortable. The air conditioning units in the bedrooms were extremely noisy and this was somewhat aggravating at night. We did have trouble with one of the units but the office sent a repair crew the next day. There was no hot water to the master shower but this wasn't a problem as there was a great tub in the master as well as two other showers in the other bedrooms. My only suggestion is to have some bottled water in the refrigerator for late night arrivals like mine. We were too late getting in to go to the store and some cold water would have been great. Thank you for a wonderful vacation! We will certainly rent again!!!
Manager Response: Aloha Lisa,
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the home. This home really does offer some of the best views out of all our homes. Thank you for letting us know about the noise of the AC, hopefully we can get them quieter and we appreciate the tip about water in the fridge, I will pass it on.
Hawaii Beach Homes
Marvelous week in Hawaii!
This place was stunning! Spacious, comfortable, and well-equipped. Our favorite aspect was the extensive porch from which we watched the ever-changing clouds, mists and sunshine festooning the island, and the nuanced blues and greens of the ocean playing out to the horizon. The indoor pool was a big hit for us as well. The house description notes that "The beach just a short walk from this property." Either we never found it, or the rocky edge of the water is not what we think of as a beach, but this was not what we expected. HOWEVER, lovely sandy beaches were short drives away, and the porch functioned as our read-a-book, nap-in-the-sun locale. All in all, a magical week.
Manager Response: Mahalo for staying with us Nickle Family!
We absolutely loved the house. Pictures don't do justice to the fun we had in the house. Pool was a big hit, although water was a little cold couple days but once you jump in, wasn't a big deal. Although there are some cosmetic maintenance issues that should be addressed soon but they were hidden and minimal, you can tell I stick my nose everywhere ;)
House was definitely the highlight of our stay!!
Lani was awesome she took care of everything!!!
Sky House vacation
The house was the perfect venue for our family vacation - 4 adults, 1 child. We loved the views, the location, the layout of the house, and the pool. The pool was used every day and sometimes multiple times. The temperature of the water varied slightly with the sunshine but it was fine. It is about 4.5-5 ft deep except where the turtle is so a small child should be a good swimmer or watched carefully - our 4 year old loved it. Someone left water toy (and we added some) which we used a lot. The floors around the pool are slippery when wet and there are some sharp edges in the pool that children should be made aware of. There are plenty of thick towels - both beach (found in the laundry room shelves) and bath so no need to bring some. I can only address the comfort of the bed in the master room, but it was very comfortable. We always slept well. The house was a good size for our family (2 in the master, 1 adult with his daughter in the room with the twin beds, and one adult in the room with the queen sized bed). There are no other beds but the house specifies it would sleep 8 - I am not sure where - the living room and the TV room would not have been suitable. I suggest limiting the size of your group to what would fit using the beds. One reviewer mentioned no hot water in the master shower - but there is. The knob operates the opposite of what you think it should. Only turn the knob slightly instead of all the way to the right. The water is plenty hot. The owners need to address multiple maintenance issues - which we enumerated to the management. Hopefully these will be addressed soon.
Location & views were picturesque! Towels & pool toys were plenty. Fully equipped kitchen. Beds were comfy. Loved the Plumeria tree outside master bedroom. It's a 15 min. walk to Hanauma Bay which is to your advantage since parking at Hanauma Bay fills up in 45 seconds at opening hour. Some minor touchups thoughout house is necessary but overall the house is striking.
This was my first time using AirBnB and Hawaii Beach Homes. They made the whole process seamless and painless.
The house was spectacular and everything was as described. The house was in a good neighborhood, close to stores/food/etc. It was easy to get on the the major highway. The pool was a great addition, and this was the main reason why we chose this house. My children loved getting into the pool after a long day at the beach...
I recommend Hawaii Beach Homes, Inc and will be staying with them on any of my future Hawaii trips.
3 Weeks in Honolulu
Our family of 4 adults were very happy with our 3 week stay in the Sky House. The House itself was a major part of our enjoyment as we enjoyed the views and the beautiful pool. Used the Barbecue daily.
The house is relatively close to shopping (by car) and served as a good base for exploring the island. The management team quickly responded to any issues or support we needed.
I would highly recommend this location for a special vacation.
Vacation home with the Wow factor
This home is amazing and very well maintained. The rental experience was very easy and gave us great confidence. This is the first time we've rented a home, we're out of state and planned our wedding in Hawaii. We brought our teenagers from previous marriages and wanted them to have a wonderful place to bond with each other as well as provide enough space for each of them to escape to, if needed. It was not needed! The inside home pool was already an unimaginable treat, plus the bedrooms were nicely spaced out, they enjoyed the patio, we bbq'd steak, we cooked breakfast each day, played games, the kids explored the beach while we went to the nearby Costco and Safeway, everything was available at our fingertips. The washer and dyrer was useful and the kitchen was well equipped, the keurig was a plus! The home allowed us to bond together as a family, because it was gorgeous and upscale, an experience we are all still talking about.
From our Ohana,
Mahalo Mahalo Mahalo
This house was amazing! Waking up to a million dollar view everyday and being able to go swimming at any hour! Our kids were in heaven! When you stay here, you'll definitely get lost in paradise. Location is easy and convenient. Loved it here and plan on returning soon!
Astonishing Ocean View!
I was bit afraid of renting this property because of some bad reviews I found on websites. But I am very glad that I booked this place for my family trip. (Part of the reason may be because I was expecting worst, so I didn't have a high expectation.) The best part of this property is the view from the house. It was breath taking. If you sit on the balcony in sunshine day, feel the warm Hawaiian breeze, it felt like a heaven. During our stay, it rained in morning, and we were able to see full rainbows. Also we happened to be there on new year eve, and we could view fireworks everywhere from the balcony. It was very nice!
Although it was kinda expensive, I can't expect more, if I think about how much we enjoyed staying there. There were sufficient number of cooking equipment and utensils. Also the location is convenient, close to stores and beaches.
Although I was very satisfied, I can see why some ppl are not happy with this property. The house is old and some furniture are damaged,stained and bit dusty. There are some stuffs that weren't working properly. And there are bugs.... we found some dead roaches on floor and inside the cabinet (luckily not alive one), and some worms(?) were crawling on floor after rain. But, it is quite normal for tropical region, and the house was clean enough for us.But I don't recommend this property to someone who is OCD for cleanliness because he/she would end up cleaning the place for his/her entire vacation.
I didn't have a chance to see any of the staff from HBH because there is no check-in process like what we do to check-in for hotel. We just find a lock box, and get a key to enter the house, which was quite straightforward. And send a email or phone call to let them know for early check-out. But I did received some email to ask me how is everything going, and some reminders. I also called them couple of times, and they seem to be friendly and helpful.
Overall I am very pleased with them.
The view from this house is amazing! We saw rainbows and whales from the is close to everything you want to do. What a great location and comfortable house. Heat in the pool would be so beneficial.
Incredible views, a good value
The property was accurate regarding the location and layout. The property was clean with the exception of a giant hairball in the pool (the pool is cleaned on Mondays so there is a high likelihood that the hair accumulation occurred after cleaning and prior to our arrival). The toilet didn't flush in the bathroom closest to the side door but the company responded rapidly when I called the next business day and it was fixed; the company rep was very pleasant on the phone. The roof vent doesn't work. The dishwasher doesn't really clean well so you'll have to clean dishes by hand as this is requested by check out. There is a new microwave and oven, which were nice. The master bedroom mattress is incredibly uncomfortable as it is very lumpy and really needs to be replaced; you feel like you're sleeping on a hot hammock. My family stated that the other mattresses were comfortable. The AC units in the bedrooms are a godsend. Despite all these observations, we did enjoy our stay at the Sky House and would recommend the house to friends, especially if they made a few changes (new mattress in master bedroom, new dishwasher).
30th Birthday trip
This was a birthday trip for myself & two other guy friends of mine. The house was amazing. Location was to die for. Plenty of room for lots of ppl even though it was only 3 of us. The pool & view from the balcony was the highlight of the property. I wish the pool was ACTUALLY heated like stated in the description of the property. And other than the geckos everywhere but mostly outside thank goodness. We felt at home and very comfortable. I would definitely rent this place again and refer it to someone else.
Manager Response: Happy Birthday! The pool is definitely heated! We will add written instructions in the house itself to avoid this confusion in the future.
Incrediable Views of the Ocean!
Beautiful views of the Ocean! Each bedroom has its own A/C unit thank goodness because the house itself does not have A/C. However, the breeze was good enough for November. When at the home, we mostly spent our time on the covered patio that had crazy awesome views! We never used the pool because it was quite chilly for us Floridians.
First trip to hawaii
The house was perfect inside and outside. The housing company very friendly and helpful about everything. The only thing is the drive way is pretty steep for an up hill.
Wonderful and relaxing views
Very nice. Wonderful views. Company people very helpful. Great place to stay
A view with a pool
Very spacious! Pool was nice to have to swim on our schedule and not worry about too much sun. It was solar heated via the open roof. So, a little cool. The lanai was nice to eat breakfast on or watch the beautiful sunset! Kitchen was missing some items needed to cook with. Main space is naturally air conditioned. A few fans were not working. Thank goodness for bedroom air conditioners. We had a couple humid days. Super steep driveway! Had to drive to a beach. Enjoyed relaxing in this quiet neighborhood.
Our Dental team had a great experience at the Sky House. The setting was excellent the views awesome. It would be nice in the description of the house to list what is actually there. ( hair dryer, bike, beach toys, soap, shampoo.
Beautiful house with fantastic view
We all very pleased to be able to enjoy a good price in a very clean and beautiful place. I would like to recommend it to everyone
Couldn’t have imagined a better stay
This place was awesome. From the location to the home itself. Best sunsets in the world. Indoor pool was Great while it rained for two days of our trip. Plenty of hot water. The home looked as if it was recently remodeled. Everything was top notch. And spotless
We all had a great experience at the Sky House during our 7 day vacation. It had great views and was located in a great place. We did have one problem that was not solved. The refrigerator's ice machine was broken and the refrigerator leaked water. I reported it the first day and second day of our stay; however, nothing was done to correct the problem. That was the only problem.